General information
Title CZKoncertantní duo
Subtitle CZpro dvoje housle a orchestr
Title ENDuo Concertant
Subtitle ENfor Two Violins and Orchestra
Title DEDuo concertant
Subtitle DEfür zwei Violinen und Orchester
Title FRDuo concertant [auth.]
Subtitle FRpour deux violons et l'orchestre [auth.]
SubcategoryDouble, Triple and Quadruple Concertos
Halbreich number264
Parts of the composition (movements)1. Poco allegro; 2. Adagio; 3. Allegro
Solo voiceVl Vl
Dedicatee Desarzens, Georges
Desarzens, Victor
Diplomatic transcription of the dedicationÀ Georges et Victor Desarzens.
Note on the dedicationDedication on the title page of the autograph score.
Place of compositionNice
Year of origin1937
Initiation of composition11/1937
Completion of composition12/1937
First performance
Performer Ansermet, Ernest
Desarzens, Georges
Desarzens, Victor
Date of the first performance10.02.1938
Location of the first performanceYverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland (Casino municipal)
Note on the first performanceGeorges Desarzens (Vl), Victor Desarzens (Vl), Ernst Ansermet (cond.)
Ensemble Orchestre de la Suisse Romande
Orchestre de la Suisse Romande
Autograph deposition
InstitutionBärenreiter, Kassel
OwnerBärenreiter, Kassel
Note on the autograph depostitionAutograph piano reduction is located in Lausanne, Switzerland. *** Sketches held by the Paul Sacher Stiftung in Basel.
CopyrightBärenreiter, Kassel
Purchase linkbuy
Supraphon, Prague, 1982
Call number at the BM Institute: 1050,b
Specification of the edition: Piano reduction; 1st edition
Details of this edition
References Related writings
Documents in the Library
Note The composition was completed on 08.12.1937 according to Charlotte Martinů's diary.
About the composition

During his seventeen-year stay in Paris, Martinů composed several concerts from one to four instruments returning to the form of a baroque concerto grosso. These include the three-movement Concertante Duo for Two Violins and Orchestra, H 264. It was composed in Nice in the Villa Point Claire, belonging to Josef Šíma, from November to December 1937. The premiere took place a year later at Radio Lausanne, the soloists were brothers George and Victor Desarzens, to whom the composition is dedicated and for whom it was commissioned. "I took the orchestra very easily so that it did not overlap the soloists and so that there was no need to force the solos. The tempo of the first movement sticks to the concerto grosso, ie not to hurry, on the contrary, to play with the intention to delay, so that sonority and technique come to the fore. I think Poco allegro is apt. The second sentence, Lento, presents no pace problems. (...) As for the title, I didn't write any, but I think that the best would be Le duo concertant for two violins and orchestra ", Martinů writes to Miloš Šafránek in his letter from Nice.

From the concerto grosso, Martinů took over the typical alternation of "soli" and "tutti", which fascinated him for many years. The works from the 1930s are characterized by a three-movement structure, as well as a departure from the sonata form and its individual themes, which are replaced by a continuous thread of subtle motivic elements. As in the Inventions, H 234, the orchestral color, the freshness of musical ideas, and the virtuoso solo parts of both instruments make this twenty-minute composition an extraordinary musical experience.

Lenka Foltýnová, programme of the Bohuslav Martinů Festival's concert, December 11–12, 2003

« previous
ID 188 (entry 1 / 0)
next »