General information
Title CZKoncert
Subtitle CZpro housle a klavír
Title ENConcerto
Subtitle ENfor violin and piano
Title DEKonzert
Subtitle DEfür Violine und Klavier
CategoryChamber Music
SubcategoryDuos for Violin and Piano
Halbreich number13
Parts of the composition (movements)1. Moderato; 2. Largo; 3. Allegretto
InstrumentsVl Pf
Place of compositionPolička
Year of origin1910
Initiation of composition1910
Completion of composition1910
First performance
Autograph deposition
InstitutionCzech Museum of Music
OwnerČeské muzeum hudby
Note on the autograph depostitionFragment of the autograph solo part also located at the Czech Museum of Music in Prague.
CopyrightBärenreiter Kassel
References Related writings
Documents in the Library
Note Composed probably for Stanislav Novák. *** Title on the title page of the solo part: "Houslový koncert" (Violin Concerto).
About the composition

The Concerto for violin and piano uses none of those special techniques at the violinist's disposal, not even pizzicato or staccato, and with only one brief exception (at the close of the second movement) there is no double stopping, nor are there any runs. In fact, this is no concerto, but rather a playful sonatina of a didactic nature, quite inaccurate in its title, which was perhaps an attempt on Martinů's part to bewilder the listener. None of the composer's more substantial works is so firmly tonally anchored as is this "Concerto", in which Martinů departs from his principal tonality only occasionally and for brief moments, always "as if he were setting out from Polička on a ten-mile walk and then, homesick, turning back after two miles to return home again" (Petr Rybář). The obscurity of the Elegy, H 3, an obscurity not quite authentic, aris­ing not so much from true personal experience as from the influence of the Decadent literature of the period upon Martinů, has been quite forgotten here; in the Concerto for violin and piano the composer comes across as simple and religious in his approach. Although the autograph score bears no precise date, this work shines with such joy and good humor that it is most likely to date from the period in which Martinů, following his dismissal from the Conservatory (“for incorrigible negligence of duties”), could at last take a deep breath and use his new found freedom to throw himself into intensive composition.

Aleš Březina, Martinů: Works for Violin and Piano, © 1999 Supraphon Music a.s 

« previous
ID 1 (entry 1 / 0)
next »